Regional Center Heading Regional Center Heading Regional Center Heading

Welcome to DCFS Regional Center Section!

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) Regional Center Section acts as a liaison between DCFS staff, Regional Centers, Department of Mental Health, Department of Probation and school districts to ensure that our dually served clients receive appropriate care and support services to address their individual needs. Our section supports the department’s mission to improve child safety, reduce time lines to permanency and support access to effective and caring service.

We offer our department staff support with case consultation, training, payment/rate determinations, and placement location assistance, as well as participation in Child and Family Team meetings and Transition Age Conferences.

What are Regional Centers?

Regional Centers are nonprofit private corporations that contract with the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) to provide or coordinate services and supports for individuals with developmental disabilities. There are 21 Regional Centers throughout California, which provide community support, resources and access to services for individuals and their families.

Who is eligible for Regional Center Services?

To be eligible for Regional Center Disability Program and Services , a person must present a substantial disability, which begins before their 18th birthday and is expected to continue indefinitely. Eligibility is established through diagnosis and assessment performed by Regional Center staff. A disability, as defined by DDS, includes intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and autism. Also included are disabling conditions found to be closely related to intellectual disability that require similar support services.

Infants and toddlers (age 0 to 36 months) who are at risk of having developmental disabilities or who have a developmental delay may qualify for Early Start Services/ Early Intervention Program and Services . The criteria for determining the eligibility of infants and toddlers is a developmental delay in one or more of the following five areas: cognitive, physical, motor, communication, social/ emotional or adaptive development.

Recent Updates

Feature Video

Each day in a child’s development matters, even before they enter the world…
Watch this video >> "Delivery Room - Kinda Deep" by Michael Jr

Seeking care providers with big hearts for our special needs children and youth.

For DCFS Regional Center inquiries, see DCFS Regional Center Section Inquiries for information we will need to better assist you.
Please email us Monday thru Friday 8AM to 5PM at